China Race-Part 2

23559438_10213790351088568_6031518756643683126_n

We had to get on the bus to head to the race VERY early.  We were on the shuttle by 5:30 with the Elite racers.  They meant business and they had a VERY different way to getting ready for a race in the morning then me.  They were playing some LOUD music at about 4:00 with doors opening and shutting as they get ready.  I was exhausted already and this was not how I wanted to wake up.  But anyway, we were on the bus eating peanut butter sandwiches that we packed and brought literally across the world!! We did a FB live post while we road to the event.

23415601_10210813701247169_6665425761135701863_o

We got to the race and we had no idea what to do.  No one spoke English and our handlers were not there and we didn’t know when we were supposed to meet them.  We were lead to an area that seems like a bag drop off but they didn’t know what to do with us.  All the other elites had tent areas but nothing that looks like one for us.  So we decided to take matters into our own hands, we roamed.  We found some weird milk-like drink that they were handing out, we each got a sample and the crowd went nuts.  This will probably be the only and only moment I was followed by paparazzi.  Keep in mind we were the only American’s probably within a 50 mile radius (guessing obviously!!)  and certainly the only ones in the race.  The locals were mesmerized by us being there and tons of people wanted to have their pictures taken with us and pictures OF us.

We then headed for more photo ops and somewhat looking around for the VIP group.  We finally made our way to our area but needed to drop off bags.  It was a mess.  We got split up and the handler I was with didn’t know where to go.  We were to start with the elite-and to be clear this is probably the ONLY time I will ever get to do that!!!  We got there with about 45 seconds to spare and still had our bags.

The race itself was pretty easy road race-13.1 out/13.1 back.  No hills, all pavement, TONS to see.  We stopped several times to take pictures, talk to friends (of my China Running Friends) and check out the unique aid stations.  One stop had sushi, hot rolls, fruit and hot tea.

I finished with an amazing feeling of accomplishment.  Did I mention I decided about 2 weeks prior to the race to run the full vs. the 1/2?  I had only done 1 full before this and I was injured.  So this was my redemption. In CHINA.  PR baby & the 1st American to finish the full marathon, I was on a major high!!!!

finish.IMG_5655

This is me after the race with the awesome medal.  Great swag at the finish too!!!

Stay tuned for post 3 the AFTER Marathon 🙂

Leave a comment