My First Swim

I was determined that today was the day I was going to do my first swim.  I had a plan…and of course that fell through!  I was going to take the boys to the neighborhood outdoor pool and swim on the break and leave baby girl at home with the hubby…and it rained.  So I packed up my gear and off to the Y I went!  I got there and the swim team was practicing and because of the rain it was pretty packed but I put on my swim cap, my NEW goggles and off I started.  I got new goggles after about 10 years of my past goggles and they were constantly getting foggy so I bought some Aegend swim goggles from Amazon and ready to check them out!!  Here is the link from Amazon where I bought them: Aegend swim goggles Amazon Link

IMG_2549

I wasn’t sure how much I could do so I didn’t have a total goal but I was thinking 8ish laps or about 30 minutes.  The pool is 25 yards (well so I thought but confirmed AFTER I swam-who does that???)   Well let’s just say I had no idea my pace because I had done at least 12 laps and about 9-10 minutes went by so I decided I would push to 30 minutes instead.  I hit 1200 yards and side note: here is a little something about me–I am SUPER superstitious about the number 13 SO I had to stop because I didn’t think I could do 1400 yards in 30 minutes.  Yes, I know this seems crazy but it’s who I am–I give partial blame to my dad!!!  So I finished a few minutes under 30 but I was happy!  I did about 70% of the total distance in the triathlon not too bad for a first swim in a few years!!!

IMG_2550Stay posted as I continue to push and train for this Awesome Chicago Triathlon, it will be here soon!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

