Dads Birthday (Not my dad!!!) 2017

This year the kids decided to make Dad some homemade cards (that were very decorative!!) and we made a personal pillow. I found a pillow at Walmart (for $5!!), it was an outdoor decorative pillow which was great because it was a synthetic material so the paint stuck perfectly.pillowWhile at Walmart I also got some multi surface craft paint (under $1.00) and we were set to decorate our pillow! paint923c850e-f47a-4ecb-b3b3-39c7693f9fb0_1.a82129ad3f0cfa55136199e4096eb3cf

The first thing I did was check to make sure the paint would work on the pillow so I made a little dot on the pillow, let it dry then tried to rub it off.  It didn’t smudge so we were ready to go!

We did a practice round and I brushed the paint on to their hands, FYI it apparently tickles when this is done 🙂  We practiced on some paper so I could figure out the right amount of paint to put on their hands.  Then I did the oldest (Pdawg) first (biggest hand!), then middle man (Mr. J) but when I got to baby girl I didn’t know if I should do hands or feet.  She isn’t a fan of things that feel “weird” so she tends to ball her hand up.  On the practice try she did good but from past experience I wasn’t sure I wanted to take the risk because I only had one shot with the pillow!  So I decided to do her feet instead.  She DID NOT like that at all.  Poor girl cried the whole time.

I was happy with how the prints turned out but it needed something else.  So I wrote each kids initial by their print and added the year and month.  Presto DONE!!!

pillowIMG_2196

Their Dad loved it Successful Birthday gift complete!

One thought on “Dads Birthday (Not my dad!!!) 2017

Leave a Reply

